Baked Chevre Eggs with Micro Greens

by Ms. Joy

Chevre Baked Eggs

Baked eggs add a delicate touch to dinner and make it particularly fun for kids because they each have their very own serving of dinner specially prepared for them. They are not quite as fussy as quiche even though I am obviously a fan and you can pack all sorts of delicious surprises inside. Mr. teased me a bit, asking if I’d simply hit the end of food creativity by baking the eggs. Then he ate his portion I had lovingly saved in spite of the teasing and his mind was radically changed. You know why? The secret to the baked egg’s splendour is the ball of chevre buried in each one.
Pre-oven eggs

I always find egg dishes to have a certain amount of lightness but they are also delightfully easy (save for soufflé obviously) and after The Coconut Mint Lentil Soup of the night before which was quite the endeavour and with Mr. unexpectedly working I wanted something simple and flavourful. Of the number of recipes on this site a large majority are egg based because it is a cheap source of protein that is a snap to prepare and even better, eggs are quite content to be infused with a number of herbs, flavourings and of course cheese. I searched a number of cookbooks and websites but I really couldn’t find something I felt like making. One recipe called to line the bowl with bacon and while that sounds delicious the night before was a bacon extravaganza and that’s not fair to my waistline or my children.
Waiting for Eggs. Or Godot.

I followed the temperature and timing guidelines from Jamie Oliver’s Baked Eggs but obviously I didn’t use the smoked haddock. I didn’t have the extra heft of the haddock in my baked eggs, a handful of micro greens don’t exactly require the same amount of baking time so I watched the oven carefullly after the 20 minute mark. If you don’t have a stash of micro greens in your own fridge I will refrain from tsk tsking you and instead urge you to hunt some down at a farmers’ market before they are all gone or use finely shredded spinach instead. If you are in my area and you happen to be awake at 7:00 on a Saturday morning, hike your cute little butt down to the Brewery Market and visit Ted Hutten. It’s his micro greens that drive Bubs wild and that I used in these eggs.

The Baked Eggs

Serves 4. Preparation time, including cook time is approximately 30 minutes.

4 eggs

4 handfuls of micro greens, washed well

2 tablespoons chevre

one tomato, diced

4-5 tablespoons goat milk

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350ºF or 180ºC.

1. Gather four small oven save bowls. Most dish sets carry an impossibly huge bowl and an equally small bowl, use the smaller one unless you plan on a huge baked egg dish for yourself. Grease each dish lightly with a neutral tasting oil. Place all of the bowls onto a baking sheet for stability.

2. Line with a solid pinch of micro greens (or shredded spinach). The bulk of it should reach halfway up the bowl.

3. Roll half of a teaspoon of chevre in your hands to form a ball. Around this ball arrange the diced tomatoes. Sprinkle with salt and one to two turns of the pepper mill.

4.Crack the egg into the bowl, taking care not to break the yolk. Pour in approximately 2 tablespoons of goat milk (or whatever milk you prefer) to level out the egg with the greens. Give a dash of salt and a few cracks of the pepper milk depending on your own taste.

5. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until the whites are set. Be sure to check the eggs at 20 minutes.

We enjoyed our Chevre Baked Eggs with potato wedges and apple cider, again from the Hutten Farm.

